Peaches & Cream French Toast Crunch

I bought a new fruit bowl yesterday. I needed a slightly larger one than my previous one because I can now enjoy fruit again. When I brought it home I realized when I was transferring the fruit from the old dish to the new that I had two peaches that were desperately seeking use.

Their fate would be this Peaches & Cream French Toast Crunch.

frenchtoastcrunch1 frenchtoastcrunch2

They would endure a journey through sharp knives, scalding saucepans, and the tines of a fork to become the acting player in this crispy baked breakfast. They had a little help though from a few cups of Corn Chex cereal, although they weren’t always part of the plan.

When I decided the fate of these peaches, it was most definitely going to be part of a french toast dish, but I didn’t have specifics yet. My Sweetheart and I were hanging out by the pool yesterday, and I asked him, “What would make this french toast special? Why would someone come to my blog to get this unique recipe?”

He though the french toast itself sounded great, but then again, he’s always hungry, so I could plate up two slices of bread right out the bag and he’d eat it like it was his last meal.

But then I thought back to when I was little, and I remembered the most interesting and delicious french toast I’d ever put to my lips. It was at a little local diner in Ocala, Florida where I grew up called Wolfy’s. My mother used to take me there on a Sunday when she didn’t feel like cooking. One fine Sunday, as I sat in the old wooden chair that was too big for me, browsing the menu, I pointed at a picture of french toast. It wasn’t your average egg and milk soaked bread.  It was crispy and golden and covered in…corn flakes. That’s right, it was covered in a crunchy layer of crushed cornflakes, and that just sealed the deal. They brought it out and as I dug in my mother said, “Slow down, you’ll choke and it’ll be your last meal.”

This was going to make the difference. I didn’t use cornflakes, however, because I needed something without high fructose corn syrup. Corn Chex however were much cleaner, with less ingredients. They are also gluten-free. You can really sub in any crushed cereal you like. I’ve even seen it done with Cap’n Crunch, although I’m soooo not speaking for that one.

Enjoy this delicious, crunchy, and toasty breakfast, and don’t eat it too fast.  You’ll choke.

Peaches & Cream French Toast Crunch

frenchtoastcrunch3

Ingredients:

2 slices of bread (I used Ezekiel bread, as it doesn’t upset the gluten sensitivity, although not labeled gluten-free)

1 egg

1/4 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk

1 medium peach

2 Tbsp cream cheese (I used Tofutti imitation cream cheese for lactose intolerance)

1/2 tsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp vanilla extract

2 tbsp stevia

2 cups Corn Chex (or Rice Chex would be lovely, also)

2 Tbsp Earth Balance vegan butter (or real butter will be fine)

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees F. Line a rimmed baking sheet with parchment paper.

2. In a toaster, toast the two slices of bread until VERY lightly toasted (this should only take a minute). Allow to cool completely.

3. In a shallow dish, whisk together egg, milk, stevia, vanilla and cinnamon.

4. Put Corn Chex in a large Ziploc and crush until broken into small pieces. Pour into a separate shallow dish. Melt the butter in a small bowl and set aside.

5. Place each slice of bread into the egg/milk mixture and thoroughly coat each side. Then transfer to Chex pieces and coat completely on each side. Then place on baking sheet.

6. Drizzle melted butter over each slice. Bake for 10-12 minutes or until golden brown.

7. While you wait for the french toast to bake, dice your peach and heat in a small saucepan on the stovetop on medium heat until they are warm and a little gooey. Transfer from saucepan to a bowl and mash with the tines of a fork until it resembles a chunky salsa.

8. Microwave your cream cheese for  minute or until soft and spreadable. When french toast is removed from oven, throw a dollop of cream cheese on one slice, spread with back of spoon, then spoon the peaches on top. Place second slice on top and smash down a little.

9. If you have extra peaches you can spoon on top of the stack and pair with maple syrup.

 

Don’t forget to post photos of your finished dish on our Facebook Page. We love seeing little variations and also your comments in the dish.

Thanks for hanging with me!

You’re a peach,

Whitney

Question: What was your favorite childhood restaurant? Which dish would you recommend from their menu?

Leave a Reply

