Ginger Molasses Crinkle Cookies

After 22 weeks of dieting for my first NPC Bikini Competition, I finally get to eat cookies again! It’s a delightful feeling, especially because all my hard work most definitely paid off. I placed 3rd in open class and 4th in novice, taking home two trophies overall! If you’d like to see photos from the competition, click here. If you want to get right to the delicious recipe, just keep reading, my hungry friend.
I’ll start by saying I’m in love with ginger snaps, gingerbread, and really anything that has ginger, cinnamon and molasses. In fact, the first thing I requested to eat after my competition was ginger cookies. So I purchased a bag of chewy ginger spice cookies from a local gluten-free bakery and packed them in my backpack, ready for the second I stepped offstage. I sat in a little chair backstage in my heels and bright red sparkling suit and scarfed these cookies down like I hadn’t eaten in days, crumbs scattered all over my lap.
The bakery responsible for these rich, chewy morsels of wonder is Outside the Breadbox Bakery. As much as I’d love to buy a package of these cookies once a week, I figured I’d try my hand at a homemade ginger molasses cookie.
They’d need to remain gluten and dairy free but still taste amazing. So I headed to the pantry to look for ingredients. I found molasses (thank goodness), ground ginger and cinnamon (also staples), and a gluten-free spice cake mix I got on sale at Whole Foods recently.
That would work.
So this cookie recipe I’m about to bestow upon you is NOT a from scratch recipe, but a cake mix manipulated into a cookie batter. And believe me when I say this: You’ll never use spice cake mix for spice cake again.
So without keeping you any longer, here is the easiest and most mouthwatering ginger molasses cookie recipe…like, ever.

20130512-145850.jpg

Ginger Molasses Crinkle Cookies:

1 package of Namaste Brand Spice Cake Mix
1/2 teaspoon ground ginger
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/2teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/4 cup water
1/4 cup unsulphered molasses

1/4 cup brown sugar (for sugar-coating)

4 teaspoons vanilla extract

2 teaspoons almond extract

Preheat oven to 375 degrees F. Mix all ingredients besides brown sugar in a large mixing bowl and whisk or use hand mixer to mix until it forms a dough. Roll the dough into 2-inch balls in a shallow dish containing brown sugar until lightly coated. Flatten the balls slightly between palms of hands and place at least 3 inches apart on a greased cookie sheet and bake for 12-14 minutes. Cool before serving, ’cause these puppies are moist and also scalding hot in the center when fresh out of the oven.

Store in airtight container or ziploc.

My sweetheart and I tasted this cookie for the first time together, both getting wide-eyed and making borderline inappropriate noises while sinking our teeth into these babies. He’s been asking for another batch since we polished off the last one two days ago.

Maybe I’ll grab another bag of spice cake mix on the way home from work tomorrow. I’d be lying if I said I didn’t want to bake up some more.

Yours Gingerly,

Whitney

Question: What is your favorite cookie flavor?

Leave a Reply

