Biscuits and Turkey Sausage Gravy: Gluten and Dairy Free

20130508-110443.jpg

Everyone loves a hearty breakfast and where I’m from, they do breakfast right. Usually somewhere among the spread are some made-from-scratch biscuits and some creamy, hot sausage gravy.
The downside of this dish is the calories it packs. Not to mention my gluten and dairy sensitivity leaves me wondering if I should have eaten the second helping.
So in southern tradition, I decided to make up a batch of biscuits and gravy this morning, but with less fat, calories and without the gluten and dairy. I used the Sunday Sweet Potato Biscuit Recipe from my previous post.
To my delight, this dish turned out just as tasty as its full-fat counterpart and now I can enjoy one of my favorite breakfasts meals free of tummy ache later.
Isn’t that freakin awesome! I thought so. So for everyone out there who misses eating this classic breakfast item, try this out at home for a cleaner, healthier plate.

Sweet Potato Biscuits and Turkey Sausage Gravy

Ingredients
for the gravy:
1/2 lb turkey sausage
3 cups almond milk
1/4 cup gluten free all-purpose flour
1/4 tsp salt
1/2 tsp black pepper

3-4 Sweet Potato Biscuits

Directions:
On medium heat, brown the turkey sausage in a skillet and break into small crumbles as it cooks. When its done, remove and set aside in a covered dish to keep warm. In a separate bowl, whisk all other ingredients until flour is just dissolved and pour into same skillet and bring to a boil. Reduce heat and simmer for 15 mins or until desired thickness, sitting occasionally. Add the turkey sausage back to the skillet and heat thoroughly. Serve on top of split sweet potato biscuits.

I hope you enjoy this meal as I did and you can ways serve with some fluffy scrambled eggs and some grits if you’re really feeling the “down home” style.

Eat up y’all,
Whitney

One response to “Biscuits and Turkey Sausage Gravy: Gluten and Dairy Free

  1. Pingback: Gluten-free, Dairy-free Breakfast (for dinner) | Be Organic and Healthy·

Leave a Reply

