Cinnamon Maple Sweet Potato Fries and Pumpkin-Almond Butter Dip

And my obsession with sweet potatoes continues…

Here is a fun recipe that I decided to make because my ingredients for cooking have become more than limited for the next three weeks.  My competition is May 4 and that means I’m down to eating chicken, fish, sweet potato, pumpkin, greens and eggs.  I can still use cinnamon and a few different types of extracts in my cooking, so this recipe has very few ingredients.  But this is good! It means they are easy (…and cheap) to make at home.

Not to mention if my diet can include anything named “fries”, I’m happy.

sweetpotatofries1

Cinnamon Maple Sweet Potato Fries

Ingredients:

1 large sweet potato (about 6 ounces)

2 tsp cinnamon

1/8 cup egg whites

2 tsp coconut oil, melted

2 tsp maple extract

6 drops of vanilla liquid stevia

Directions:

Preheat oven to 425 degrees F.  In a large bowl, whisk the egg white with the coconut oil until fluffy.  Whisk in cinnamon, maple extract and vanilla liquid stevia.

Cut sweet potatoes lengthwise, leaving skin on for extra crispiness. Each fry should be about a half inch wide. Toss the cut sweet potatoes into the egg mixture until each fry is coated. Then spread onto a parchment paper-lined rimmed baking sheet and bake for 14 mins on the 2 to top rack, then move to 2nd from bottom rack for another 14 mins. Remove and let cool.

I like to sprinkle mine with a little extra cinnamon before they go into the oven.

Also I like to dip them into my Pumpkin-Almond Butter dip.

pumpkinabdip

Pumpkin-Almond Butter Dip

Ingredients:

2 Tsp canned pumpkin

1 Tbsp canned coconut milk (I use lite)

1/2 tsp pumpkin pie spice

2 Tbsp maple or honey almond butter (I like Justin’s brand, personally)

Directions:

Combine all ingredients in a small microwaveable bowl and mix with fork until combined. Microwave mixture for about 30 seconds.  Store the rest in fridge if you multiply recipe.

The combination of delicious crispy sweet potato with creamy pumpkin and almond butter pretty much took me to paradise. I forgot I was even dieting! Though moderation is key with the dip if you’re watching calories; the almond butter adds up quick.  Honestly I can’t be trusted with a jar of almond butter, so better to portion myself right from the jump. The healthy fats are only healthy if you don’t eat the entire jar in one sitting.

Enjoy your fries! I’ll be back with another recipe as soon as I can. Feel free to post your favorite recipes.

What can you make with only chicken, fish, green veggies, eggs, almond butter, sweet potatoes, pumpkin and salt free seasonings? I’d love to hear more ideas.

Until we eat again,

Whitney

4 responses to “Cinnamon Maple Sweet Potato Fries and Pumpkin-Almond Butter Dip

  1. Pingback: “N” is for News–Or is it? | Crumbsnatcher Tales·

  2. Pingback: Cinnamon Good or Bad? | The Epigenetics Project Blog·

  3. Pingback: Cinnamon Sweet Potato Frosting (Dairy Free/ Refined Sugar Free) | Sandi's Allergy Free Recipes·

  4. Pingback: Day 10/15: Saturday Cheat Day | the misadventures of a cooking monster.. om nom!·

Leave a Reply

