Sunday Sweet Potato Biscuits

Holidays like Easter are my favorite times of the year. They are family days, and that’s always a special occasion. My big southern family used to each bring a dish to my Granny’s house and then we’d go down the street together to a friend of the family’s house to hunt for eggs.

The dinners weren’t anything gourmet or fancy.  Just good food.  It was green bean casseroles, big slabs of ham and turkey, and sweet potato or pumpkin pies. One of my favorite items was always the bread. Give me a yeast roll or a biscuit and I was good to go.  Made from scratch biscuits are a thing of beauty, bringing an entire meal together with the flaky, buttery taste and golden comforting warmth.

When I’d enter the house, my little hands went straight for the basket with the cloth napkin.  That’s the best way to keep them warm.

Since I couldn’t come home just for Easter, it was only appropriate that I bring a little bit of home to the Easter dinner over at my Sweetheart’s uncle’s house. The recipe was a little southern comfort with a healthier twist.

His Uncle John grabbed one up right when I came in the house today and his eyes widened as he gobbled it up. I knew I hit the nail on the head with these.  The best part? They’re only a fraction of the fat and gluten-free, with a warm hint of cinnamon and sweetened with freshly mashed sweet potatoes.

I’m happy to post this recipe for everyone following my blog and at the request of some of my Sweetheart’s family who were guests at today’s Easter dinner.  Bake a basket of these for breakfast tomorrow! They pair great with honey and jam.

biscuits2

Cinnamon Sweet Potato Biscuits

Ingredients:

3/4 cup pureed sweet potato (you can buy this canned, I prefer mashing and pureeing freshly boiled potatoes)

1 1/2 cup of gluten free Bisquick baking mix

1/2 tsp xantham gum

3 1/4 tsp baking powder

2 Tbsp Stevia

1/2 tsp salt

3 Tbsp butter, diced or grated and frozen (I used light butter with canola oil)

1/3 cup almond milk (or any milk of choice)

1 1/2 tsp cinnamon

Directions:

Preheat oven to 375 degrees F.  In a large mixing bowl, add flour, xantham gum, stevia, salt, and baking powder. Mix well.  Cut in cold diced/grated butter and put the bowl in the freezer during the next step to keep the butter cold while in the flour. In a blender, puree the sweet potato and milk together.  Remove the flour mix and add the sweet potato and milk mixture.  Mix well into the flour. When the flour becomes a dough, roll into a large ball on a floured surface and sprinkle the cinnamon on the dough ball, then knead it through to make a swirl. Roll the mixture out to about 1-1.5 inches thick. Use a round glass or biscuit cutter to make biscuits. The dough should make about 6 large biscuits. Bake on a greased baking sheet for about 10 minutes.

biscuits3

These biscuits are great for making egg sandwiches, topping with honey and jam, or smothering in a sausage gravy, if you want to be a little more indulgent.

Thanks for joining me for this recipe and taking a little something from my family to yours. Nothing makes me happier on this beautiful Easter Sunday.

Warm Wishes,

Whitney

One response to “Sunday Sweet Potato Biscuits

  1. Pingback: Biscuits and Turkey Sausage Gravy: Gluten and Dairy Free | Every Which Whey·

Leave a Reply

