Crock Pot Pulled Chicken

So I finally broke in my new Crock Pot, and I couldn’t be happier with the result. I made a basic pulled chicken recipe.  This was ideal because I eat a lot of chicken throughout the week, so having a huge container of delicious, slow-cooked, garlic mustard pulled chicken was a great way to prep for the week.

The recipe is simple:

pulledchicken2

Slow-Cooked Pulled Chicken

Ingredients:

2 lbs of boneless, skinless chicken breasts

3 cups of low-sodium chicken broth

3/4 deli honey mustard

3 TBSP Mrs Dash Salt-Free Garlic and Herb Seasoning

Directions: 

Add the broth and mustard to the Crock Pot and stir until combined. Roll each breast in the Mrs. Dash Seasoning and add to the pot as well.  Set on high for four hours (or low for 7-8 hours).  When done, remove chicken from crock pot, set into a large dish (I used my large Pyrex glass dish), then take two forks and pull chicken apart.  It should be extremely tender and easy to separate.

A perfect recipe for when you don’t feel like cooking when you get home.  You can always reduce the amount, however, I pre-make my chicken for the entire week, so this recipe is for a weekly meal prep portion.

I love to top a piece of toasted Ezekiel Bread with the chicken and add a little extra deli mustard. It’s a perfect, high-protein meal.

pulledchicken1

This Crock Pot is becoming my favorite appliance. I’m not quite sure why I never bought one before, especially since my mother used one quite often, but I’m sure glad I did.  Next Crock Pot meal will be Buffalo Ranch Chicken, a variation of this recipe with a little kick, for those who love it spicy!

Oh! I almost forgot.  One of my favorite holidays is creeping up slowly and begging for a little baking love. Easter!! Of course I had to try my hand at one of the American classics for spring time; carrot cake.  Only in cupcake form and with a delicious and very light frosting. Since I was invited to my Sweetheart’s uncle’s house for this celebration, I’m also bringing along a little taste of home. My Gluten-Free Sweet Potato Biscuits will combine healthy and clean with the downhome Southern taste of a flaky, made-from-scratch biscuit.

Thanks for hanging with me again today!

Whitney

Leave a Reply

