My Pumpkin Obsession

I LOVE pumpkin.  Almost as much as I love pancakes. But guess what? Combining both of these delicious foods makes for an easy breakfast treat!

Today I made Pumpkin Spice Protein Pancakes with a Caramel Maple Syrup. They really hit the spot.  At six weeks out, my cravings have been through the roof for sweets, and this tricks my tummy into thinking I’m eating a slice of pumpkin pie, without crying in my room later because I sabotaged my entire diet. On the contrary, these are completely sugar-free and I can have four pancakes without going over my 350 calorie breakfast limit.  So rad!

The syrup isn’t bad either. It’s a great way to top them without resorting to a traditional maple. Tastes like candy!

pumpkinpancake

Pumpkin Spice Protein Pancakes with Caramel Maple Glaze

Ingredients:

1/3 cup oats

1/8 cup oat flour

2/3 cup egg whites

1 scoop vanilla whey protein

1 tsp vanilla extract

1 tsp maple extract

1 tsp almond extract

1/2 tsp each of cinnamon, nutmeg, and ginger

for the glaze:

1/2 cup almond milk

1 TBSP vanilla sugar free pudding

1/2 tsp caramel extract

1 tsp maple extract

Directions:

Blend all ingredients, except for glaze ingredients in a blender and pour on griddle.  Flip when bubbling.

For the frosting, mix all ingredients in a saucepan on medium heat and stir continuously.  When the consistency is thick and syrupy, remove from heat and allow to cool a bit before pouring onto pancakes.

Voila! A delicious tummy-warming breakfast! But alas! I have another pumpkin-y treat for you!

It will be posted up next, so stay tuned.

Have fun, my little pumpkins,

Whitney

Leave a Reply

