Lemon Ranch Salmon Steaks with Sweet Potato Slices

Today I realized I had two delicious salmon steaks in the freezer that I had forgotten all about.  It’s always a great day when you find something you hadn’t remembered you put away and then the possibilities become endless as to what to do with it.  Kind of like finding money in your pants after you wash them, I suppose.

Anyway, I just purchased a new jar of Mrs. Dash Salt-Free Lemon Pepper, so I knew that would be included. And what’s a good salmon steak without some fresh dill?

Now to kick it up just a notch. I had some ranch seasoning in my pantry, and thought, “why the hell not?” That stuff isn’t that terrible if you use only a small shake and you don’t mix it with mayo (gross).  Then I crushed some gluten-free rice chex on top for a “crust” without the gluten.

I paired this flavorful fish with my staple sweet potatoes as a side. Sweet potatoes are great for fiber and salmon steaks are a very healthy fat source. Not to mention they are great for your skin. What girl doesn’t want that?

Make your own by following the recipe below and enjoy!

salmonsweetpotato

Lemon Ranch Crusted Salmon Steaks with Sweet Potato Slices

Ingredients:

5 oz salmon steak

2 tsp Mrs Dash Salt-Free Lemon Pepper seasoning

1 tsp Fresh dill (or freeze dried if you have that)

1 tsp Powdered Ranch Seasoning

12 Rice Chex squares

Olive Oil spray for frying

5-6 slices of sweet potato

cinnamon

Directions:

Heat either a frying pan at medium high or a countertop grill (George Foreman, anyone?) at about 375 degrees.  In a shallow dish spray salmon with olive oil spray and coat in lemon pepper seasoning, dill and ranch seasoning.  Put on pan or on grill. Cook until the fish becomes flaky and a light pink color. Make sure it’s cooked all the way through. Then crush up the rice Chex and sprinkle them on top of the fish. Remove from heat.

Pan-cook sliced sweet potatoes in a separate pan at medium-high heat coated with olive oil spray.  Shake cinnamon over top of slices.  Flip slices after about 6 minutes and shake cinnamon on opposite side, let cook for another 6-7 minutes or longer if you like them to be softer.

Place salmon steak over top bed of sliced potatoes and serve.

salmonsweetpotato)

Thanks for following along here and if you do try this at home, let me know what you think! I’d love to hear your own variations of this, also.

Want to hear some great news?! As I was shopping today at the thrift store, I came across a very gently used, gigantic sized Crock Pot! I was so excited. The thing was only $9.00, so I thought it needed a new home. Now it’s sitting on my counter waiting to be filled with some healthy, clean ingredients. My mother used to use a Crock Pot quite often, so the smell of slowly-cooked meats and veggies just take me back to when my little eyes could barely see above the countertop where it sat.

Keep checking back, because odds are, there’s a Crock Pot meal in my near future 🙂

Ciao,

Whitney

Leave a Reply

