Green Is The New Chocolate: Pancake Edition

Ok, so I’m jumping on this bandwagon and making a green dish for St. Patrick’s Day, although anyone who’s anyone knows the official color of this Irish holiday is actually blue.

At least that’s what my sweetheart told me. And I looked it up, of course. What’s a girl without Google?

But I couldn’t help myself. Green is my favorite color, so I was at the mercy of the St. Patty’s Day cliche. Not to mention it gave me an excuse to add veggies to my pancakes. Yes…veggies. A full serving.

Wait! Don’t leave! I promise they’re super tasty! In fact, I gobbled down my entire stack and practically licked the plate. And so did my sweetheart. Boys like them! Go figure.

Protein pancakes are pretty much my favorite thing in the world. If I can add my veggies to them? Ain’t gonna complain about that.

If you’re not convinced, bake up a stack, plunge the side of your fork into the fluffy green-ness, hesitantly put a bite into your mouth, widen eyes, lick lips, eat whole stack, then come back here and post your experience.

Green-Is-The-New-Chocolate Pancakes

green pancakes

Approx Nutrition Facts per Stack of 3 (makes 2 servings): 330 calories; 7.5g fat; 37g carbs; 45g protein

Ingredients:

1/2 cup of Vanilla Whey Protein Powder (I used Dymatize Elite)

1 tbsp flaxseed meal

1 egg

1 1/4 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk

1 tsp vanilla extract

1 tsp cinnamon

1 tsp almond extract

2 tsp baking powder

1 scoop wheatgrass powder

1 cup fresh baby spinach

Optional Ingredients: fresh blueberries, fresh strawberries, almonds, walnuts

Directions:

greenpancake2

Add Almond milk, spinach and wheatgrass powder in a blender, and blend completely. Add protein powder, cinnamon, vanilla, almond extract, flaxseed meal, egg and continue to blend until mixture is smooth (and green!). Add any extra ingredients and blend again. Pour onto griddle, flip when you see bubbles on top and formed edges. Top with nut butter or sugar-free maple syrup.

Enjoy my pretties! EEEEEEEEHEHEHEHEHEHE!!!

Over the top, right? Alright, I’m going to the gym. Until next time!

Sincerely,

Whitney (the good witch)

Leave a Reply

