Bikini-Friendly Beach Fare

As a girl born and raised in Florida, I will always have a soft spot for seafood. Growing up there gave me direct access to some of the best seafood selections in the continental U.S., some of which I caught with my own hands. Scallops are not only one of my favorite beach-side cuisines, but they are also one of my favorite catches. My daddy and I used to take the pontoon boat out the the Gulf of Mexico, drop anchor, throw on some fins, mask and snorkel and take our bags into the shallow, warm gulf waters.  We would snorkel around for hours waiting to see a little flash of electric blue (that’s the color of the zillions of eyeballs the scallops have). When we’d spot one, we’d dive down after it, flipping our feet, chasing a scallop that was trying to bury itself in the seaweed.

I recently took my sweetheart on a scalloping trip. He was hooked from the very beginning.  It’s like a scavenger hunt. There’s nothing better than coming back to the boat with a bag full of them, then counting to see who got the most.

And as much fun as the boat trip is, the best part is the scallop feast you have afterwards!

Now Daddy used to deep fry the little dudes with breadcrumbs and vegetable oil, but since I need to fit into my bikini still, I’ve opted for a lime-infused chili powder battered version, without the carbs, but ALL the flavor.

I’ve paired it with a batch crispy, garlic roasted brussel sprouts to make a healthy and guilt-free seaside entree.

limescallops

Enjoy!

Spicy Lime Bay Scallops with Oven-Roasted Garlic Brussel Sprouts

Ingredients for Scallops:

3/4 lb fresh bay scallops

1 tsp Chili Powder

1 tbsp cilantro

1 tbsp garlic powder

3 tbsp lime juice

t tbsp olive oil

Directions: Place bay scallops on a paper towel on a plate and use another paper towel to pat dry. Put the chili powder, cilantro and garlic powder in a large ziploc bag, add scallops to bag, zip, and shake em up gently until they are coated. Turn a saucepan on medium heat and put in olive oil.  Let oil heat up for a minute, then add scallops. Cook for one minute, add lime juice to sauce pan, continue cooking for 5-7 minutes, pushing around the pan gently until scallops are opaque. 

Remove from heat set on a paper towel again for a few minutes before serving. This lets some of the oil from the pan soak up. Plate and serve.

Ingredients for Brussel Sprouts:

1 lb brussel sprouts

1 tbsp minced garlic

1 tbsp olive oil

salt and pepper

Directions: Preheat oven to 400 degrees F. Trim and split brussel sprouts in half.  Toss in a gallon ziploc with olive oil, garlic and salt/pepper. Shake em up and put them on a baking sheet with edges and bake for 30-35 minutes or until edges are crispy and browned. 

limescallops2

 

In the spirit of the upcoming Irish holiday, I’ve added little lime four-leaf shamrocks as a garnish by slicing a lime into quarters about 3/4 of the way through and spreading them out with my fingers.

This was delicious and makes me look forward to my Florida Vacation in June. Enjoy this low carb recipe and stay healthy, my friends.

Your Humble Kitchen-Comrade,

Whitney

Leave a Reply

